All Our Losses Will Be Made Up

Dear Reader,

Things have been rough in my life of late, and although I don’t want to go into specific details, there have been some thoughts on my mind that I want to share with you. I hope the thoughts that have come to me will help you as they have me.

The other day I watched a movie that I hadn’t seen before called The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler. I highly recommend it. It is the story of a Polish social worker during the time of World War 2 who, with the help of others, smuggles approximately 2500 Jews out of the Ghettos to safety with Polish families. The film was intense for me—might not be for some people—and very touching. It really got me thinking. In the film it portrays the difficulty of the mothers of the Jewish children in giving up their children, in hopes that they might save their lives. How heartbreaking it was!

Having three of my own children, the thought of being separated from them, not knowing if I’d ever see them again, not knowing what their fate or my own fate would be, is almost more than I can bear! I cannot imagine what those mothers must have gone through.

It makes me think of the story in the Bible of Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-nego. They were also taken from their mothers. I don’t know that they ever saw their mothers again after that—most likely not. But what their mothers instilled in them and taught them carried them through. They remembered their heritage and where they came from and were true to it.

How those mothers must have prayed, every day, for their sons! How their hearts must have ached! Surely those mothers’ prayers and their cries to God helped to carry their sons through difficult times. Surely, that was a loss most unbearable!

Sometimes we are faced with hard choices. Sometimes the choices are excruciating. Sometimes it feels like all we are faced with is loss, no matter which way we turn. We wonder, Is God still there? Does He see what I’m going through? Does He care? We don’t always understand what God is doing. We don’t understand His ways. Sometimes it’s painful to trust God when the choices we face are so difficult. But isn’t it more painful not to trust God?

I remember hearing someone quote or reading a talk given by Joseph Smith where he said that all our losses would be made up. I believe that to be true. I don’t know when or how, but I do believe that if we give God all we have and do the best that we know how and turn the rest over to Him that He will make up our losses, whether in this life, or the next. That takes a great deal of trust and of confidence in God—sometimes more than we can muster, but God will help us, if we ask.

There is a hymn that I just love that comforted me in a difficult time. It is Does Jesus Care. It is a beautiful song written by Frank E. Graeff. Here’s a little of the song:

“Does Jesus care when I’ve said “goodbye”

To the dearest on earth to me,

And my sad heart aches

Till it nearly breaks,

Is it aught to Him? Does He see?

 

O yes, He cares, I know He cares,

His heart is touched with my grief;

When the days are weary,

The long night dreary,

I know my Savior cares.”

Sometimes in life the only comfort we have is that God knows and understands all and makes sense of everything. I’m grateful that He does. It gives me comfort to know that I can lean on Him when everything else has fallen away.

As we look around us, the world is full of challenges and they seem to grow bigger every day. What if we were faced with similar difficult situations as these mothers were, or more in number than we presently face? In each trial or tribulation that God sees fit to allow us to go through, do we remember that He knows and understands and that He cares? Truly, He does care. And in God’s due time all the hurt, heartache and sorrow that we experience here will be made up with joys unspeakable. Surely our God has His richest blessings reserved for those those who wait on Him in trust and gratitude.

My prayer for you and I today is that we can wait on Him, diligently trusting that He who is the author of Love will make good on His promises and will turn our tears of sorrow into shouts of joy. Surely He is the healer of our broken hearts, our broken lives and broken promises. May we trust the Master healer to finish the work that He has started.

May God bless you in your journey with Him.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

Leave a Reply

