Still Here

This song is one that I wrote due to processing some information. My sister had found out some things about Papa’s past, things that he’d done wrong and how he’d really botched things in some places. Their relationship really tanked for a while. The pain between them was so intense, even though they loved each other, they were hard on each other. Papa, in a lot of ways, wasn’t healed from the things that she brought up, and still had a lot of guilt over it. My sister had a lot of hurt because of the choices he made and how it effected her and her relationship with her mom. At the time I wrote this, she and I had been talking a lot. I wanted to understand what was going on with her and why she’d made the choices she did. Realizing those things about Papa had thrown her into a tailspin and her life’s ricocheted ever since in some places, though she’s gained stability since that time. When I wrote this things still had not resolved between them, but I hoped they would. And they have now. It just goes to show that when a relationship hits the bottom of rock bottoms, there is still hope.

You’re hurting,

I’m hurting,

We’re hurting.

What are we gonna do?

We both said we’re sorry

But the pain’s so real.

Saying sorry doesn’t fix it

When the pain has gone this deep.

I don’t know how to move on from

The place that we have come to.

There must be a way.

God, teach me the way.

I still want you.

I still want you.

I still want you.

Even with all that we’ve been through together.

I didn’t sign up for all this

Pain and work to come to naught.

I still want you.

I still want you.

I didn’t

Sign up for

This long haul

To give up to soon.

I’m willing

To stick out–

Do you still want to?

If it’s over I can’t bear it;

But I’m only half of this.

If you’re done then it’s all over.

Please! Another try at this!

There’s gotta be a way.

God, teach us the way!

I still need you.

I still need you.

I still need you.

Even with all that we’ve been through together.

I didn’t sign up for all this

Pain and work to come to naught.

I still need you.

I still need you.

We tried and

We tried and

We failed and

We are pushing through.

We didn’t

Give up then–

We are pulling through.

The pain’s real and it’s not over,

But we work at it each day.

Progress comes though it’s not easy.

God is showing us the way.

He’s shown us the way.

He’s taught us the way.

I still have you.

I still have you.

I still have you.

Even with all that we’ve been through together.

We didn’t sign up for all this

Pain and work to come to naught.

I still have you.

And you’re still here.

Yes, you’re still here.

Even with all that we’ve been through together.

We didn’t sign up for all this

Pain and work to come to naught.

I still have you.

I still need you.

I still want you.

And you’re still here.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

