Waiting on God’s Time

This is a poem that I wrote nearly ten years ago at a time in my life when I had a lot of questions and very few answers. If your life has brought you to such a place, I here dedicate this poem to you.

Dedicated to all who have felt lost and confused,

Who are looking for answers.

Sometimes this life’s confusing and my mind is full of doubts.

Sometimes I don’t know where I’m going or where I’ll end up.

Suddenly I’ve been questioning all I thought I ever knew.

I’ve felt scared, alone, unsure; and I haven’t known what to do.

I want to know the truth of all the things I haven’t been sure of.

I want to have confidence and be confident that I’m on the right road.

I want to know how I fit into God’s scheme of things,

And how I stand with Him.

I want to know if the things that I’ve been told are true, are true.

I want to know the truth, all of the truth, for myself.

I want to stand on my own rock.

I want to be sure of my course in life;

And I want to know where I belong.

It seems to me that most everyone else already knows where they belong

And what they are going to do with their lives,

While I’ve been trying for so long just to survive.

I feel a bit excluded and I want things to change

–to change within myself.

I guess the thing is this:

I want to know for myself the truths and peace and confidence

That others have found.

I realize that these are a lot of wants,

Quite frankly, they are imperative to life,

To my life.

I believe that I will receive the answers I need when the time is right.

After all, I’ve never known God to have ill timing.

I know He’s using this time to teach me and those around me;

And that God can use all of these experiences for everyone’s benefit

And to glorify Him and the power of the Savior,

The power of my Jesus.

I have already decided that I will be patient

And wait for God to reveal the things that I cannot see.

Although it is not always easy,

I must remember that I am waiting for “the perfect timing of the Lord”.

Until that time comes

I will simply wait and pray and thank Him.

Then, when it’s time,

God will show me what He’s been doing all along.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

Leave a Reply

