Resurrection

This is a song that I wrote a few years back. I was going through a lot at the time, and sometimes when I’m going through tough times, playing the piano is such a comfort to me. There have been a lot of times when I’ve sat down at the piano and somehow my fingers found a melody that fit how I felt. This was one of those songs. The original feeling behind the song was the hope that God would resurrect my life, which at that time felt so broken. That He would “breath new life in me again”. Around the same time that I was working on this song I had fallen out with some dear friends of mine and desired reconciliation, but it hadn’t happened yet. Some other friends of mine had lost their handicapped daughter.  The other person that was prevalent on my mind when I wrote this was my mom’s stillborn son, born next after me. I have always felt close to him.

The message of this song, that I hope is conveyed, is that though things die, in Jesus we have hope and all things dead will be made new, no matter what it is. There’s a resurrection awaiting all of us for the places in us that have died, the relationships that have died, the people that have died. I hope it gives you comfort as it did me.

Chorus of angels are singing praises

To our Redeemer, Deliverer for ages;

Opens death’s dark prison doors

And sets us free!

Chorus of angels are cascading down!

Are you among them?

I search all around.

I’m filled with longing!

When I find Him

I see you come.

How can I leave you here?

How can I lay you in Mother Earth’s arms?

I’m not ready for this.

I miss your smile and your laugh.

I miss the way you would look at me.

I miss the love that we share.

You’re moving on!

You’re moving on!

You’re moving on into the realms of light!

I am not ready for goodbye!

How can I leave you here?

How can I move on alone?

I have needed you’re strength and your love.

When will I see you again?

When will I know we have healed

From the past painful heartache we’ve born?

I’m moving on!

I’m moving on!

I’m moving on into the realm of light!

I am not ready for goodbye!

Chorus of angels are singing praises

To our Redeemer, Deliverer for ages;

Opens death’s dark prison doors

And sets us free!

Chorus of angels are cascading down!

Are you among them?

I search all around.

Can’t seem to find you though I search so long.

So I look for Him.

Resurrection, when will I see you

Release your children from death’s dark prison cell?

When will we see who we are?

Hosts of my loved ones coming

Out of the heavens and from the earth!

Oh what a glad day coming!

Oh joyous union of the Redeemed

When with our Savior

We each will know!

We each will know!

O my beloved best friend,

I hope someday you will know

What your friendship and love means to me.

So many times have I shown

My heartache instead of my tears of joy

That you’ve shared life with me.

We’re moving on!

We’re moving on!

We’re moving on into the Savior’s arms!

He’ll carry us on that day!

Hosts of my loved ones coming

Out of the heavens and from the earth!

Oh what a glad day coming!

Oh joyous union of the Redeemed

When with our Savior

We each will know…

Hosts of my loved ones coming

Out of the heavens and from the earth!

Oh what a glad day coming!

Oh joyous union of the Redeemed

When with our Savior

We each will know!

We each will know!

Chorus of angels are singing praises

To our Redeemer, Deliverer for ages;

Opens death’s dark prison doors

And sets us free!

Chorus of angels are cascading down!

Are you among them?

I search all around.

I’m filled with longing!

When I find Him

I see you come!

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

Leave a Reply

