Baby’s Coming

This song is one that I wrote for my first child when I was expecting my second. My first child was quite young when I found out I was expecting another, and I wanted to find a way to share the news with him that he might understand. I remember having him on my lap as we rocked in the rocking chair as this song came to me. I have since sung this song to my boys when I was expecting their sister–the funny thing is, I started singing it to them before I knew I was pregnant. How’s that for coincidences? 🙂 I hope you enjoy it! We sure have. 🙂 It’s one of my favorites.

Verse One

Inside Mama’s tummy

A little baby grows,

A brother or a sister–

Only Heaven knows.

We’ve been waiting patiently

As our baby “bakes”.

We are so excited,

Like candles on the cake!

 

Chorus

Baby’s coming is so exciting,

Like all holidays wrapped in one!

Baby’s coming is heaven at home:

Let’s celebrate reunion!

 

Verse Two

I wonder what our baby sees

Deep inside of there.

Can our baby hear me

When I say my prayers?

I feel and see our baby move!

Wow! It’s oh so sweet!

I surely want to hold our babe

And kiss those little feet!

 

Chorus

Baby’s coming is so exciting,

Like all holidays wrapped in one!

Baby’s coming is heaven at home:

Let’s celebrate reunion!

 

Verse Three

What will baby look like?

Like Daddy or Mommy?

Maybe some of each of them,

Or maybe just like me!

Will our baby play with me

“Boo” or “Hide-and-Seek”?

I can hardly wait much more!

Can’t I take a peek?

 

Chorus

Baby’s coming is so exciting,

Like all holidays wrapped in one!

Baby’s coming is heaven at home:

Let’s celebrate reunion!

Leave a Reply

