Trust Jesus

This is a song I actually wrote last week. I was singing my kids their “baby songs” (I haven’t posted those yet, but will do that here soon) and my oldest piped up that there was no “trusting Jesus in my song”. I told him that I’d been thinking for a while of writing him another song and I told him I would work on it after they went to bed. He’s been struggling a lot lately with a lot of things and he needed a “Trust Jesus” song :-). I need those too! After I got the kids settled for bed I took my notebook and pen and wrote out this song. Once the basic draft was done I woke my son and asked him if he wanted me to sing it to him, which he did. He was very happy with his song. He told me a day or two later that he didn’t expect that much trusting in God, but I know he likes it still the same.

My dear little [name],

When your heart is heavy and

Weighed down with hurt, heartache and sorrow,

I want you to remember

What your Mama’s gonna tell you

To keep you in “the narrow and straight way”.

Trust Jesus, He is your best friend!

Tell Him your troubles, this way they end.

Tell it all to Jesus–He will lift your load.

He knows what’s needed and will help you through it all.

When those kids are mean to you–

They won’t share nor be nice–

Do be nice and kind anyway.

You may be the only Bible

That those kids will ever see

By the way you act and treat them.

Trust Jesus, He is your best friend!

Tell Him your troubles, this way they end.

Tell it all to Jesus–He will lift your load.

He knows what’s needed and will help you through it all.

As you grow up and get stronger

Jesus will always be there

To help you tackle problems life will throw.

Though this life ain’t easy ever,

Trust your Savior, He will always

Pull you through the hurts and sorrows.

Trust Jesus, He is your best friend!

Tell Him your troubles, this way they end.

Tell it all to Jesus–He will lift your load.

He knows what’s needed and will help you through it all.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

