For Evy

This song has quite the story around it. This song was written while in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit) with my second newborn son. The initial birth went well, in spite of the fact that I was extremely emotionally and physically exhausted, even before I went into labor. After he was born they put him on my belly only to take him away once they cut and clamped the cord. He had begun to shut down. Literally he was on death’s door, and so was I.  All there were working hard to save both our lives. My baby was taken to the NICU later that day. I remember laying on the bed as my husband and others worked over my son, trying to revive him, all the while trying to keep me alive as well. I wondered if God was going to take my little boy, and I asked God to help me forgive Him if He did. Then I felt this quiet assurance that he was going to live. After 15 days in the NICU and a terrible case of jaundice that lasted for nearly two months, as well as some cranial work, he is now a perfectly normal healthy child to anyone looking at him, with so much drive and energy he’s hard to keep up with at times. 🙂 He’s my warrior and this is his song.

Precious little baby boy

Laying in my arms;

Laying here so peacefully,

So many little charms.

You’ve been sent from Heaven

Down on earth to me.

God’s provided miracles

As we’ve daily seen.

We are blessed you’ll stay with us

For yet a while longer.

Each day you’re here is blessed by God.

We’re grateful you are stronger.

You’re sweet, you’re cute-our angel boy,

A peaceful little man

Determined here to stay with us

For you God has much planned.

Providence has saved you, son,

And kept you here on earth.

Your work here isn’t finished yet

You have a work of worth.

Remember Father’s hand, my son,

And how He kept you here.

Remember Him each day, my son,

And serve Him well while you’re here.

Remember the love of your parents

And how we thanked the Lord

That your stay was lengthened

That you we might enjoy.

Up unto our age of old

Your life will precious be.

A peaceful, loving confidence

Has been twixt us and thee.

Remember Father’s hand, my son,

And do His work of love.

Remember Father’s hand, my son,

And serve Him well while you’re here.

Your mission is a special one

Meant to bless all those around–

Bless them with God’s love and peace,

And determined strength of His will.

Remember Father’s hand, my son,

And how He kept you here

To do a special work of love

For others He holds dear.

Remember Father’s hand, my son,

And how He kept you here.

Remember Him each day, my son,

And serve Him well while you’re here.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

Leave a Reply

