For Mom

This is a poem that I wrote for my mom for this year’s Mother’s Day. I want you to know that I have one of the most awesome mom’s in the whole world and I am so grateful for her. As I thought about what I could give my mom for Mother’s Day this year, at first I felt depressed because there isn’t a lot I have to give. I didn’t have funds to work with and yet my mom has done so much for me I was just aching to show her in some small way how much I love and appreciate her. As I thought of all the resources that I had at my disposal I realized there was something that I could give that would mean a lot to her, and that was my writing. So Mom, I take this writing gift that you’ve always encouraged me on and I write something for you. I love you, Mom–more than I have words to express, but somehow I know that you know how much I love you anyway, even without all the words.

What can I say, Mom?

You’ve been my mom for 28 long years–

Almost 29.

We’ve been through a lot together.

Chemical imbalance, nearly loosing Evy,

Nearly loosing me more times than we’d like to count.

You’ve helped me through broken health,

A broken heart, and a broken life.

You’ve paid for anything I needed so many times,

Been the Savior’s hands in so many ways,

So many times.

Mom, there just aren’t words enough

Or even adequate

To express my thanks and appreciation,

And even awe at times.

I don’t know how you’ve kept going

With all you’ve had on your plate,

And then adding mine.

Thanks for being here with me,

For me,

In the good times and the bad.

It’s home with you that I’ve learned what family means,

What mother means.

Thanks for being mine.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

