Sister to Sister

This is a sonnet that my sister wrote for me on my twentieth birthday. I had the poem framed and I’ve kept it up where I could see it for several years. It reminds me of who I am and who she sees in me–someone strong and capable. I have her permission to put this on here to share with you.

Thank you for being you, and for giving

Me the opportunity to know you.

Thank you for loving life, not just living,

For holding on to what you know is true.

Thank you for enduring, you’ve kept going

Whether you were walking or on your knees.

Thank you for continually growing

And for following the Savior who frees.

You have held on tightly to the Lord’s hand

And with your other you chose to hold mine.

My set of footprints by yours in the sand.

These set of footprints showing us the sign

That we’ve traveled this path. I’m grateful to see

That you are the one who walks it with me.

~Thoughts From A Mother’s Heart (from her sister, at least :-))

 

Leave a Reply

