My Partner

I wrote this for one of my boys last year in a spree of poem writing. 🙂

 

He’s my working partner

And my goof-off friend.

I love to play with him

‘Till the day’s end.

He loves to help me in the kitchen

When I’m making something good to eat.

He wants to do what I do—

Which is scary at times!

And he’s not a timid child.

He doesn’t wait around for me.

If I don’t do it fast enough

He’ll plow ahead without me.

He’s pretty confident,

Even when he doesn’t know what he’s doing.

Kind of a funny mix.

He’s gotten into more than one mishap that way.

But that’s ok.

It’s the way he seems to learn.

If I could be a little faster,

And think ahead a bit,

I think it would make things easier

For both of us.

He’s a mover, a shaker,

Bound to do something good.

If I can just point him in the right direction.

I’m glad he’s here.

My life’s so much more exciting

With him in it.

He’s so happy; it’s contagious.

You can’t be around him long

Without cracking into a smile.

Oh yes! My little boy

Makes it all worth while!

Leave a Reply

