The True Love Dare: Dare 4

Mosiah 5:15

“Therefore, I would that ye should be steadfast and immovable, always abounding in good works, that Christ, the Lord God Omnipotent, may seal you his, that you may be brought to heaven, that ye may have everlasting salvation and eternal power, and justice, and mercy of him who created all things, in heaven and in earth, who is God above all. Amen.”

Dare Four:

Stand firm in manifesting that truth, maintaining your conviction of why you do what you do.

Proverbs 4:18

“But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day.”

In our last three True Love Dares we’ve talked about making a firm commitment to truth, that our eternal identity is found when we resonate with truth, and that the Light of God through the Holy Ghost will guide us to all truth that we need and will guide us in our path of manifesting the truth that is revealed to us.

Today, we are going to talk about being firm and maintaining our conviction, maintaining the three True Love Dares that we’ve already covered.

One of the things that I’ve noticed is that when the going gets tough, if I know why I am doing what I’m doing–what my foundation is and the fruit that I know what I’m doing will produce, it makes it a lot easier to maintain my course when I get opposition. And when you are turning from lies to truth and are in the process of turning and aligning your life to truth, all kinds of opposition can come in different ways and forms. But if you remain true to what God shows you,  I cannot emphasize this enough, you will pass through the opposition and eventually those who once opposed you and questioned you will see the fruits and be on the same page. If you are truly following God’s guidance then He will vindicate you in His own time and way.

Last month my papa introduced me to Nehemiah Gordon’s website: nehemiaswall.com. On his website he has a series of talks that he and Keith Johnson did called The Open Door SeriesYou can find this series on Nehemia’s website as well as on youtube. I haven’t listened to all of the series yet, that’s on my to do list :-), but I listened to the 1st and the 13th (the 13th is what my papa was listening to that he shared with me). I decided to go back and start from the beginning. In the first talk of the series, Keith Johnson illustrates from his life experience, this concept of staying true to what God shows you, even if other people around you haven’t caught the Vision yet. And, how it all works out in the end. I absolutely loved this story! Besides the fact, that Keith Johnson is an absolute riot to listen to! He’s really entertaining :-).

Anyway, if you get some time, or decide to make some time, as the case may be, I highly recommend it. It’s well worth the time, in my opinion.

If you think about the history of great men and women throughout the history of the world, anyone who’s made a dramatic and meaningful impact on the world, what made them great was that they stayed true to what God had planted in their hearts, and any opposition they faced had the tendency to only increase that confidence instead of diminish it.

That’s not to say that all of us don’t get down in the dumps sometimes. I love the story of Elijah when he hit one of these places, recorded in 1 Kings 19. This story illustrates a really good point that I think is important to bring out–when you’ve done what God has placed in your heart to do and from all appearances everything is going wrong and falling apart you need to go to Him. He will comfort you, guide you and give you the assurance you need to keep going, as in the case with Elijah.

It is when we go to the Lord when the opposition comes that turns it into a confidence builder instead of a confidence breaker, because we find out in that experience that God has got our back and He’s got us covered. These kind of experiences help build our confidence in God, as well as our trust in Him, and that alone makes the experience of opposition worth it.

Sometimes we hit these places and find that opposition throws us off course, or throws us into doubt and confusion. It is imperative that when we hit these places that we GET INTO GOD’S WORD, because in His word we find our reasons for why we are doing and what we are doing affirmed. That is where we get our Vision and where we maintain it when opposition gets thrown at us that we’re beginning to buckle under.

This is also why the last three Dares’ assignments are really important, because you can apply them every time you face opposition. Connect with God, remind yourself of the truth that He’s created you to manifest and how He communicates with His children.

You know, it was amazing, the other day I had my friend Rose comment on wanting to see my scriptures in blue, so I set to work putting it all together for a post. That’s the first time I had taken the time to look at what I’d gathered together. It blew me away because I realized how much God really had been involved, and I hadn’t been able to see it that clearly until I pulled all those scriptures together. It helped to ground me and affirm answers that I’d been given and it also caused me to realize how good God’s been to me. It built my confidence in Him and in my ability to recognize His hand in my life.

It is so important to keep a record of what God is doing in your life, so that when you have times where the opposition is strong and the mist of darkness is thick that you can pull out your record and reconnect with what God’s given you and how He’s worked with you. It will strengthen you and help you get through.

Assignment for Dare Four:

1 Nephi 6:3-6

“And it mattereth not to me that I am particular to give a full account of all the things of my father, for they cannot be written upon these plates, for I desire the room that I may write of the things of God.

“For the fulness of mine intent is that I may persuade men to come unto the God of Abraham, and the God of Jacob, and be saved. Wherefore, the things which are pleasing unto the world I do not write, but the things which are pleasing unto God and unto those who are not of the world.

“Wherefore, I shall give commandment unto my seed, that they shall not occupy these plates with things which are not of worth unto the children of men.”

Purchase a book to write in. This is your book to write down “the things of God” that happen in your life personally. This isn’t for the casual chit chat with God, telling Him about your day kind of stuff. This is for the deeply personal stuff, where you write down your journey with Him, how He’s been in your life, answers He’s given you, things He’s shown or taught you. This is your “Personal Revelation Journal,” so to speak, or your “My God and Me” book, whatever you want to call it, but the context is the same. Begin by writing what you’ve already received and add to it as more comes. Work to make this a consistent habit.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

