Mother

I thought I’d share this poem, since it’s Mother’s Day today. I wrote this poem for my mom when I was 14. Our relationships had it’s ups and downs and life’s thrown a lot of curve balls but God has truly blessed me with an awesome mom. I really love my mom. I have another poem that I wrote for my mom and gave to her last year, which I posted on here too, if you’d like to read it, click here I also have a poem that I wrote for my Grandma. You can read that too if you want, here.

For all those Mom’s out there, I just want to tell you thank you! You have some of the most important work in the world. Thanks for all you do! Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother is really a wonderful person.

She spent the first years of my life

Chasing me around and keeping me out of trouble.

But, I have to say,

What she has done more than anything else

Has been just spending time loving me for me—

Accepting me for who I am and where I’m at.

Sometimes, I, as her daughter

Don’t realize how much I put her through,

And until I have some sons and daughters of my own

I don’t think that I will ever understand.

 

Mother is really a wonderful person

Because, you see,

No matter what is going on in her life

She always has a smiling face

And a hug and a kiss just for me.

Whenever I need some motherly advice

Or just someone to talk to

My mother is always there

To help me decide what to do and how to do it.

Either that or she just quietly listens

Until I’m through talking

And when I’ve wiped the tears from my face

She tells me to come to her

And then gives me a hug and a kiss

And tells me she loves me.

Then I know that everything will be alright

And that I’ve have nothing to worry about.

I know that no matter what happens,

And no matter what life will throw at me

She will always love me and be there for me

Ready to help me along the journey of life

Back to our Heavenly Father.

 

My mother is really a wonderful person

Because, you see,

No matter what happens I will always know

That she trusts me to do what is right

And won’t stop loving me if I make a mistake.

I love my mother so very much,

And I know that she loves me!

Leave a Reply

