Autumn Gold

January 24, 2019

Eureka, California

This poem was inspired by a song of the same title, Autumn Gold, by David Tolk from his album, In Reverence.

Autumn Gold,

Oh, give me Autumn Gold.

I’m worn out to Spring

With her thrill and over excitement–

Her hustle and bustle

Of new growing things.

Then, the Summer’s been drawn out too,

The heat of those days

Bore down on my soul

Like heat baking bricks in an oven.

My heart has baked,

Whether solid and sturdy

Or burned black and cracked,

No good or useful,

I no longer care.

Just give me the warmth of autumn leaves,

The cool of autumn air.

Rest, from the heat and fanfare.

Spring’s had her day

And Summer too.

Right now I wish fall would last

All year through.

My heart’s worn out

With younger years

Of toil and strife.

The hard work’s been done.

My body and soul,

Weary and tired

To the innermost cell.

Give me the rest of autumn–

Quiet repose,

Meditative walks,

The smell of the leaves

Breaking down into soil;

The earth preparing

For the quiet swell of winter.

Oh happy solace!

Quiet! From life’s noisy day!

Oh my heart aches

For rest and repose.

None but those so weary

Can so well relax into those arms.

Those arms that hold you

‘Till the pain of Spring and Summer

Completes its trembling exit;

And each muscle so tightly strung

Upon ligaments and tendons

Finally relax into restful sleep,

A sleep only those who’ve worked

Past their heart’s breaking

Can know.

Rest,

Final rest.

Found only in Autumn Gold,

And mountain peaks

And quickly coming

Quiet Winter snow.

Oh, so tired.

My soul longs for solace,

For rest.

May I find it

In Autumn Gold.

Leave a comment